Cookie Notice: This site uses cookies to enable users to obtain the best experience from the website. In particular, secure encrypted cookies are necessary to allow secure progression through the various elements of the online 'apply' and 'my application' services. Session cookies are deleted automatically when the browser is closed. If you use the CAO Virtual Assistant, you will be asked to consent to third party cookies.

By continuing to use this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more details please see our privacy statement. For more general information on cookies see

CAO Handbook
Page 11 of 23

Step 7: Indicate if you wish to disclose a Disability/Specific Learning Difficulty and apply for the Disability Access Route to Education (DARE)

Table 1.6 HEIs participating in the DARE scheme or operating schemes for school-leavers with disabilities

HEIs participating in the DARE Scheme

Athlone Institute of Technology

Letterkenny Institute of Technology

St Angela's College Sligo

Cork Institute of Technology

Limerick Institute of Technology

Technological University Dublin

Dublin City University

Marino Institute of Education

Trinity College Dublin

Dundalk Institute of Technology

Mary Immaculate College

University College Cork

Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design & Technology

Maynooth University

University College Dublin

Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology

National College of Ireland

University of Limerick

Institute of Technology, Carlow

NUI Galway

Waterford Institute of Technology

Institute of Technology, Sligo

Pontifical University Maynooth

Institute of Technology, Tralee

RCSI University of Medicine & Health Sciences

Table 1.7 Other HEIs operating admission schemes for school-leavers with disabilities

Other HEIs operating admission schemes for school-leavers with disabilities*


* These HEIs do not apply the closing dates set out in the next sections

If you wish to disclose a disability or specific learning difficulty, click on the ‘Modify Disability/SLD (and DARE Application) Status’ button on the online application form and follow the instructions provided - for most institutions, you must complete this part of your application before 1 March at 5:15pm. If you would like to provide more information on your Disability or Specific Learning Difficulty, please complete the Supplementary Information Form (SIF) before 1 March at 5:15pm. This will allow the HEIs to consider any specific support needs you may have in a HEI. You will be instructed to complete the SIF form when you select ‘Modify Disability/SLD Status’ on the online application form. Instructions for completing the form and submitting documents are included in the online form.

Some HEIs take account of the impact of your disability and/or specific learning difficulty on your educational performance through the provision of alternative admissions schemes. If deemed eligible for these schemes applicants may receive a reduction in points for entry to courses in participating HEIs. To be considered for entry to a course applicants must satisfy matriculation/minimum entry and subject requirements. Full details on the Disability Access Route to Education (DARE) and instructions for submitting a DARE or HEAR application may be found in the DARE HEAR Application Handbooks, at and at

There are other admissions routes for mature and QQI FET/FETAC Level 5/6 applicants; further information is available on HEI websites.

Applicants applying for DARE must:

  1. Be under the age of 23 as of 1 January 2021.

  2. Apply to CAO by 5:15pm on 1 February 2021.

  3. No later than 5:15pm on 1 March 2021 you must disclose your disability and/or specific learning difficulty in your CAO application and fully and correctly complete Section A of the Supplementary Information Form (SIF) (the SIF is part of your CAO application).

    1. If you wish to be considered for DARE you must answer yes to question 1 on Section A of the fully completed SIF by 5:15pm on 1 March 2021.

  1. Download Section B of the SIF (Educational Impact Statement), have it completed by your school and returned to CAO to arrive by 5:15pm on 15 March 2021.

  2. Download Section C of the SIF (Evidence of Disability), have it completed by the appropriate medical professional (only if you do not already have a report verifying your disability) and returned to CAO to arrive by 5:15pm on 15 March 2021. In place of Section C, applicants with a specific learning difficulty are asked to provide a full psycho-educational assessment completed by an appropriately qualified psychologist.