Cookie Notice: This site uses cookies to enable users to obtain the best experience from the website. In particular, secure encrypted cookies are necessary to allow secure progression through the various elements of the online 'apply' and 'my application' services. Session cookies are deleted automatically when the browser is closed. If you use the CAO Virtual Assistant, you will be asked to consent to third party cookies.

By continuing to use this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more details please see our privacy statement. For more general information on cookies see

CAO Handbook
Page 13 of 23


If you have provided CAO with your correct examination details (or PPS number for QQI FET applicants), CAO automatically receives the following examination results: Leaving Certificate, QQI FET, CCEA (Northern Ireland) GCE, British GCE. For all other examining bodies, you must supply certified photocopies of results of summer 2021 examinations to CAO as soon as they become available. To be considered in the competition for places in Round One, these results must arrive in CAO at least 10 days before the issue of Round One offers, otherwise they will be considered for subsequent rounds.


For some courses you may need to sit additional assessments, provide supplementary information (e.g. a portfolio or a statement), or attend for an interview. Some of these courses will be marked as “(Restricted – see page 3)” in the CAO handbook, but you should consult the websites and prospectuses of the HEIs for more information.


You are advised to apply online, before 1 February at 5:15pm, if you need to apply for the 2021 GAMSAT, HPAT and/or MSAP tests.

Check your email inbox regularly as CAO communicates via email with such applicants.

If you have a 2020 MSAP score you wish to use you must supply to CAO a copy of these results with your application, or within 10 days of applying online. Current year MSAP results will be obtained directly from ACER.

In order for your GAMSAT results to be forwarded to CAO by ACER, you must indicate on any of your current GAMSAT registrations (September 2019, May/June 2020, September 2020, March 2021) that you are an applicant to an Irish program. Results from these sittings only will be considered for 2021 Graduate Medicine entry.

Current year HPAT results will be obtained directly from ACER. Consult the appropriate HEI literature regarding their validity.

Graduate Medicine

Qualified applicants are ranked solely on the basis of GAMSAT results. To qualify, applicants must obtain a second class honours grade one (2H1) in their first Level 8 Honours Degree. For more information go to the Student Resources section of and click on the Entry to Medicine tab.

Mature Nursing/Midwifery

Mature applicants for nursing/midwifery are ranked based on their score in an assessment test which is required by the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Ireland (NMBI). Full details about the assessment are publicised on the NMBI website

For further information, please email