Cookie Notice: This site uses cookies to enable users to obtain the best experience from the website. In particular, secure encrypted cookies are necessary to allow secure progression through the various elements of the online 'apply' and 'my application' services. Session cookies are deleted automatically when the browser is closed. If you use the CAO Virtual Assistant, you will be asked to consent to third party cookies.

By continuing to use this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more details please see our privacy statement. For more general information on cookies see

CAO Handbook
Page 9 of 23


Step 4: Seeking exemption from minimum entry requirements

If you wish to seek exemption from minimum entry requirements (e.g. exemptions from Irish or modern language requirements) then you should contact the Admissions Offices of the HEIs for further details (in the case of NUI institutions see for details). For more information go to the Student Resources section of


Step 5: Add your Level 8 and Level 7/6 course choices before 1 February to avoid restrictions

The courses listed in this handbook are classified with reference to the National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ). Courses are listed by their NFQ Level of learning achievement, for example, NFQ Level 6, 7 or 8 and by the NFQ Award-Type to which each course leads e.g. Honours Bachelor Degree.

A small number of courses listed in this handbook lead to what are known as non-major awards. Where applicable, these will be listed as Certificates (CT) or Foundation Certificates (FC) at NFQ Level 6 and as Diplomas (DP) at NFQ Level 7.

This table outlines the range of NFQ Levels and Award-Types that are used to classify the courses in this handbook:

Table 1.3 NFQ Levels and Award-Types

NFQ Levels

Major Award-Types

Level 8

Honours Bachelor Degree

Level 7

Ordinary Bachelor Degree

Level 6

Higher Certificate

You are responsible for ensuring that you meet the specified entry requirements and conditions for all courses. The processing of an application at any stage should not be taken as an indication of eligibility for any course.

To add your course choices, log in to the My Application facility and click on Add Level 8 course choices or Add Level 7/6 course choices. You are given the option to introduce 10 course choices on each list, and the choices that you make on one list will not affect the choices on the other list – the only time you have to choose between the lists is if you receive an offer of a course from both lists.

You will have opportunities to make changes to your course choices lists using the Change of Mind facility – restrictions apply (see page 3). For more information on changing course choices go to page 15.

Order of Preference

When entering your course choices it is extremely important that you list your courses based on your genuine order of preference and not on assumptions about examination performance or what you think the points will be for a course.

At the offer stage, you will receive an offer of the course highest up on your course choices list(s) that you are deemed eligible for, if any. For example, if you receive your first preference Level 8 course in Round One you will not receive an offer for a lower Level 8 preference in subsequent rounds. If you receive an offer of your third preference course you may still receive an offer of your second or first preference course in a subsequent round of offers, but you will not receive an offer of your fourth preference course or lower.

For more information about how offers are issued and order of preference watch the CAO video guides in the Student Resources section of the CAO website